Civic Norms


What is BMRDA ?
BMRDA is an Act to provide for the establishment of an authority for the purpose of planning, co-ordinating and supervising the proper and orderly development of the areas within the Bangalore Metropolitan Region and to provide for matters connected therewith.
What are the Powers and Functions of BMRDA ?

1.To carry out a survey of the Bangalore Metropolitan Region and prepare reports on the surveys so carried out.

2.To prepare a structure plan for the development of the Bangalore metropolitan Region.

3.To cause to be carried out such works as are contemplated in the structure plan.

4.To formulate as may schemes as are necessary for implementing the structure plan of the Bangalore Metropolitan Region.

5.To secure and co-ordinate execution of the town planning scheme and the development of the Bangalore Metropolitan Region in accordance with the said schemes.

6.To raise finance for any project or scheme for the development of the Bangalore Metropolitan Region and to extend assistance to the local authorities in the Region for the execution of such project or scheme.

7.To do such other acts and things as may be entrusted by the Government or as may be necessary for, or incidental or conductive to, any matters which are necessary for furtherance of the objects for which the Authority is constituted.

8.To entrust to any local authority the work of execution of any development plan or town planning scheme.

9.To Co-ordinate the activities of the Bangalore Development Authority, the Corporation of the city of Bangalore, the Bangalore Water supply and Sewerage Board, the Karnataka Slum Clearance Board, the Karnataka Electricity Board, the Karnataka Industrial Areas Development Board, the Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation and such other bodies as are connected with development activities in the Bangalore Metropolitan Region.

What are the permissions required for development activities

1.Notwithstanding anything contained in any law for the time being in force, except with the previous permission of the Authority. No authority or person shall undertake any development within the Bangalore Metropolitan Region of the types as the Authority may from time to time specify, by notification published in the official Gazette.

2.No local authority shall grant permission for any development referred to in sub-section(1), within the Bangalore Metropolitan Region, unless the Authority has granted permission for such development.

3.Any authority or person desiring to undertake development referred to in sub-section (1) shall apply in writing to the Authority for permission to undertake such development.

4.The Authority shall, after making such inquiry as it deems necessary grant such permission without any conditions or with such conditions as it may deem fit to impose or refuse to grant such permission.

5.Any authority or person aggrieved by the decision of the Authority under sub-section (4) may, within thirty days form the date of the decision appeal against such decision to the State Government, whose decision thereon shall be final: Provide that, where the aggrieved authority submitting such appeal is under the administrative control of the central Government , the appeal shall be decided by the state Government, after consultation with the Central Government.

6.In case any person or authority does anything contrary to the decision given under sub-section (4) as modified in sub-section (5) the Authority shall have power to pull down, demolish or remove any development undertaken contrary to such decision and recover the cost of such pulling down, demolition or removal from the person or authority concerned

Which are the authorities to approve layouts?

1. The Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMRDA) – for Bangalore Urban and Rural Districts and Malur Taluk of Kolar District excluding the areas covered by BDA, BIAAPA and other LPA’s.
2.The Bangalore International Airport Area Planning Authority (BIAAPA) – for its local planning area which includes the area of proposed new airport and its environs.

3.The Ramanagaram – Channapatna Urban Development Authority (RCUDA) – for Ramanagaram – Channapatna local planning area.

4.Nelamangala Local Planning Authority – For Nelamangala Town & its environs.

5. Magadi Local Planning Authority – For Magadi Town & its environs.
6. Kanakapura Local Planning Authority – LPA of Kanakapura.
7. Anekal Local Planning Authority – LPA of Anekal.
8. Bangalore Mysore Infrastructure Corridor Area Planning Authority(BMICAPA).